Center for Combined Smart Energy Systems

The Center for Combined Smart Energy Systems (CoSES) bundles the expertise of the TUM for research on energy systems. The aim is to develop viable concepts to integrate a large proportion of renewable and distributed energy sources into the existing energy system. The center pursues an integrated approach which not only considers electricity, but also heat, traffic and communication. The CoSES collaborates with partners from industry and other scientific institutions to jointly work on the research projects. The achieved results will not only be published in the scientific community but will be communicated to politics, industry and society.

Organisation

As a part of the Munich School of Engineering, the CoSES is a central platform for joint research on future energy systems. The integrated approach is reflected by the participating chairs and the resulting subprojects. To ensure the balance, the CoSES is jointly directed by the heads of the participating chairs:

As an open research group we intend further cooperations within the TUM, with industrial partners and further research institutes. Currently the CoSES is structured into five subprojects:

  • SP1: Electrical Energy Supply
  • SP2: Thermal Energy Supply
  • SP3: Communication Technology
  • SP4: Control Engineering
  • SP5: Energy Management

The scientists working in the subprojects are appointed by the different chairs. In 2017 CoSES and  MSE moved into a new building, the Center for Energy and Information (ZEI). An experimental microgrid lab will open here in July 2019.

Zentrum für Gekoppelte Intelligente Energiesysteme

Im Zentrum für Gekoppelte Intelligente Energiesysteme (kurz CoSES, für Center for Combined Smart Energy Systems) wird die Expertise der TUM für Energiesystemforschung gebündelt. Das Ziel ist die Entwicklung tragfähiger Konzepte um große Anteile erneuerbarer und dezentraler Energiequellen in das bestehende Energiesystem zu integrieren. Dabei wird ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz verfolgt, indem nicht nur Strom, sondern auch Wärme, Verkehr und Kommunikation betrachtet werden. In Kooperation mit Industrie und weiteren Wissenschaftseinrichtungen werden Forschungsprojekte gemeinsam bearbeitet. Die erzielten Ergebnisse werden nicht nur im wissenschaftlichen Umfeld veröffentlicht, sondern insbesondere in die Politik, Industrie und Gesellschaft getragen.

Organisation

Das CoSES ist Teil der Munich School of Engineering als zentrale Forschungsplattform für die gemeinschaftliche Erforschung zukünftiger Energiesysteme. Der ganzheitliche Ansatz spiegelt sich in den beteiligten Lehrstühlen und den resultierenden Teilprojekten wieder. Um das Gleichgewicht der Gruppen zu wahren erfolgt die wissenschaftliche Leitung gemeinschaftlich durch die Leiter der beteiligten Lehrstühle:

Das Zentrum ist eine offene Forschungsgruppe, es werden also weitere Partnerschaften innerhalb der TUM, mit Industrie und weiteren Forschungseinrichtungen angestrebt. Aktuell ist das CoSES in folgende Teilprojekte gegliedert:

  • TP1: Elektrische Energieversorgung
  • TP2: Thermische Energieversorgung
  • TP3: Kommunikationstechnik
  • TP4: Regelungstechnik
  • TP5: Energiemanagement

Die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen werden durch die einzelnen Lehrstühle gestellt. Seit 2017 ist CoSES zusammen mit der MSE im neuen Gebäude Zentrum für Energie und Information (ZEI). Dort wird im Juli 2019 das Experimental-Microgrid eröffnet.